Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

BW Finishes Third at 23rd Annual John Summa Memorial Tournament

BW Finishes Third at 23rd Annual John Summa Memorial Tournament

BEREA, OHIO --  Senior 133-pounder Brian Bucher (Ottawa Hills/ Avon Lake) won an individual title and four other wrestlers placed in the top-four of their respective weight classes today (Saturday, February 7, 2009) at the 23rd Annual John Summa Memorial Tournament in Berea and the Yellow Jackets finished third of six teams with 97.50 points.

Brockport State (N.Y.) University won its 13th straight Summa tourney title with 154 points and Waynesburg State (Pa.) University was second with 104 points. Luke Baum, the 141-pounder of Rochester Institute (N.Y.) of Technology won his fourth straight individual title and was named the 2009 Summa Tournament Most Valuable Wrestler for the second consecutive year.  Thiel (Pa.) College's heavyweight wrestler Ian Prah recorded the tournament's fastest pin in 18 seconds and Troy Cunningham of Brockport State recorded the most pins in the least amount of time with three pins totaling 7:33.

For BW, Bucher won his second straight 133-pound title.  Sophomore 174-pounder Andrew Scavuzzo (Cuyahoga Falls/ Woodbridge) and sophomore 184-pounder Korey Leonhard (Kinsman/ Pymatuning Valley) placed second.  Senior 165-pounder Joe Incorvaia (Medina/ Senior), after finishing second a year ago, placed third.  He was joined in third place by freshman197-pounder Ryan Tudor (Pataskala/ Watkins Memorial) placed third.

Junior 45-year-old heavyweight Terence Haynes (Brunswick Hills/ Glenville) scored his first career non-forfeit win on his way to a sixth place finish in the heavyweight division. Read more about Terence's truly inspiration story. (Complete Terence Haynes Feature Story). A film crew from ESPN was on campus from January 11-16, again from February 3-5 and plans to tell Terence's story on its magazine show E60 at a future date.

The Yellow Jackets are now idle until Tuesday, February 12 when the Yellow Jackets host Ohio Athletic Conference rival Wilmington College on Seniors' Day in the Rudolph Ursprung Gymnasium in Berea at 7:30 p.m.

FOR MORE INFORMATION, please contact BW Sports Information Director Kevin Ruple by telephone at 440-826-2327, by FAX machine at 440-826-2329 or via e-mail at kruple@bw.eduTo contact Head Coach Rich Fleming, please call 440-826-3258 or e-mail at You can get all of the latest BW athletics information by visiting our Web site at

Final Results: Baldwin Wallace University 
23rd Annual John Summa Invitational Tournament
Saturday, February 7, 2009
at the Lou Higgins Center Fieldhouse in Berea, Ohio 

Final Team Standings: (Six total schools participated)

KEY: (B)=Brockport State (N.Y.) University; (BW)=Baldwin Wallace University; (MO)=Morrisville (N.Y.) State College; (RIT)=Rochester (N.Y.) Institute of Technology; (T)=Thiel (Pa.) College; (WAY)=Waynesburg (Pa.) College.

NOTE ON FINAL INDIVIDUAL RESULTS: Some schools had multiple teams that are not listed in the team scoring (i.e. Brockport 2 or Brockport 3), but individuals are included in the championship matches.

FINAL TEAM SCORES: 1. Brockport State University, 154; 2. Waynesburg University, 104; 3. Baldwin Wallace University, 97.50; 4. Rochester Institute of Technology, 84; 5. Thiel College, 79; 6. Morrisville State College. 

Championship Round Results:

125 POUNDS: First  Place: Mike McInally (RIT) major decision over Shawn Hainey (B), 12-2; Third Place:  Rico Borz (WAY) pinned Justin Delamothe (MO), 1:01; 133 POUNDS: First Place: Brian Bucher (BW) won by forfeit over Corey Brown (T); Third Place: Ryan Fallot (B) defeated Glen DiStefano (BRO), 1-0; 141 POUNDS: First  place: Luke Baum (RIT) def. Josh Bellinger (B), 5-4; Third Place: Patrick McCabe (WAY) won by medical forfeit over Dean Baker (WAY); 149 POUNDS: First place: James Forsyth (B) maj. dec. over Pat Fallot (B), 13-0; Third Place: Nate Cross (MO) def. Troy Cunningham (B), 6-3; 157 POUNDS: First  Place:Greg Hogan (T) def. Jared Roberts (WAY), 6-5; Third Place: Mike Cole (B) maj. dec. over Matt Lowry (T), 9-1; 165 POUNDS: First Place: Jason Wake (RIT) def. Donald Williams (B), 3-1; Third Place: Joe Incorvaia (BW) def. Alex Evanoff (WAY), 2-1 (2 O.T.); 174 POUNDS: First place: Eric Van Patten (B) def. Andrew Scavuzzo (BW), 5-0; Third Place: Chad McCray (MO) won by forfeit over Nick Ryan (RIT); 184 POUNDS: First Place: Josh Lancaster (B) def. Korey Leonhard (BW), 13-10; Third Place: Patrick Morris (T) technical fall over Wheeler Brunschmid (MO), 19-2, 5:48; 197 POUNDS: First Place: Corbin Semple (WAY) pinned Tom Voorhis (B), 4:05; Third Place: Ryan Tudor (BW) maj. dec. over Bruce Mertiff (T), 11-1; 285 POUNDS: First Place: John Chowskey (B) def. Rich Janicki (WAY), 3-2; Third Place: Kraig Smith (T) def. Nate Meyer (T), 2-1. 

AWARD WINNERS:  The John Summa Most Valuable Wrestler: Luke Baum (RIT), 141 pounds; Fastest Pin: Ian Prah (T), :18; Most Pins in the Least Amount of Time: Troy Cunningham (B), 3, 7:33.

FOR MORE INFORMATION, please contact either Baldwin Wallace Sports Information Director Kevin Ruple by telephone at (440) 826-2327 or 2325, by FAX machine at (440) 826-2329 and by e-mail at, Assistant SID Nick Minerd at (440) 826-2780 and e-mail at or Head Wrestling Coach Rich Fleming at (440) 826-3258 in his office and e-mail at